Tags

, , ,

Fun Weekend Photography Project: Week #6

Last weekend was a busy one for me. Friday evening after work I went out with some friends to Hotel Indonesia roundabout to take some night shots. Knowing that it would be Jalan Jaksa festival, we were heading there to see what was happening only to found out that there was nothing to see yet.

On Saturday I had blogger Meet & Greet on Saturday morning, then in the afternoon I had an appointment with my friends and an Italian whom I know through CS. It took us like forever to set up the timing and venue. Finally on Saturday morning itself we agreed to meet at 4 pm at Grand Indonesia Shopping Town East Mall. He was in business trip and extremely busy with tight schedules of business meetings all around Jakarta.

At 4 pm he told me that he was still in the middle of meeting. We were walking around the mall and I took the opportunity to take some shots.

Some first shots are taken in the most essential part of a mall. Toilet!

The passage toward the toilet from the Food Louver – food court- is beautiful and accentuated with rows of wood and warm-toned lights.

Heading to Relief

12 Hours in A Day

To those who haven’t known yet, I’ll tell you a little bit about Jakarta. Its official name is the Special Capital Territory of Jakarta, and is the capital and largest city of Indonesia. Jakarta is the country’s economic, cultural and political center. It has an area of 661 sq. km and is a home to 8.6 million (by night). By day approximately there are 16 million people.  It is the most populous city in Indonesia and in Southeast Asia, and is the 12th largest city in the world.

The metropolitan area, Jabodetabek (Jakarta Bogor Depok Tangerang Bekasi), is the 2nd largest in the world.

…………..

Let’s get back to Grand Indonesia Shopping Town East Mall where we were still waiting for him to finish his meeting. Btw, this mall hits the upper end class. They have rows of big brand boutiques. Sometimes I wonder how many people in a day purchase goods from a boutique of giant brand like Louis Vuitton, Prada, Chanel, etc.

Gucci

Burberry

Oh finally I got a SMS from him informing me that he was finally free few minutes to 5.30 pm when my 2 lovely friends had been really irritated. There he was, looked tired, but he tried to crack the tension with good jokes. Basically he is a nice person and with good sense of humour.  We had a good time having some chit chat despite the chaotic arrangement prior to the meeting.

My plan after meeting him was to take night shots at the heart of Jakarta, at Hotel Indonesia roundabout, after getting myself a tripod in that very afternoon. The reason I chose Hotel Indonesia roundabout as my playing ground this weekend is that this spot is lively even after midnight. It is bright, vivacious and lively all night long.

Hazy Night

Bundaran HI

Green… Go!

Midnight! After getting ourselves something to drink, my friend and I were heading home. It took me only about 30 minutes to reach home by taxi which is absolutely impossible had it been during the day. It would have taken me 1 or even 2 hours.

Love Jakarta at night.

